619. Lee V. Reyburn, JR. Memorial Scholarship


Back To List

  • Award: $1,000
  • Eligibility: Graduating senior from Josephine County
  • Selection Criteria: Applicants interested in pursuing a medical career which involves direct patient contact. Such career paths would include physicians, nurses, emergency medical technicians (EMT’s) physician assistants (PA’s), nurse practitioners (NP’s) and physical therapists. Preference for students attending RCC, SOU, KCC and OIT. Academics, participation in co-curricular activities, and community service are considered.
  • Use of Funds: Scholarship checks are mailed directly to the recipients’ college or university for payment of tuition and fees. Award may also be used for books and needed school supplies upon presentation of receipts to JCEF for reimbursement.
  • About this Scholarship: The Lee V. Reyburn Memorial Scholarship was established in 2020 by Katherine Abdun-Nur. “Mr. Lee Reyburn saw potential in me when I was a young woman with very limited resources. He generously funded my nursing school tuition, giving me the ability to participate in meaningful work and support my children. My nursing career has spanned the critical care and emergency departments; I have served in medical missions to impoverished countries and worked in the maternal-child/lactation field. It is a privilege to assist others along the way.”